Announcing the Spring 2021 Voyage YA First Chapters Contest Results - Uncharted

Announcing the Spring 2021 Voyage YA First Chapters Contest Results

By The Voyage Team

It’s time for one of our favorite things—announcing contest results! The Voyage team would like to thank everyone who submitted to our Spring 2021 First Chapters Contest! We’ve enjoyed reading your chapters and are dying to know what happens next! Make sure to keep writing and getting your work out there! We’d also like to thank our contest submitters for their patience. It’s always tough waiting to hear back, and we appreciate you sitting tight as we read through all the amazing submissions. Without further delay, we present to you the winners of the Voyage Spring 2021 First Chapters Contest as selected by our guest judge, NYT Bestselling Author Melissa de la Cruz! We’d also love to acknowledge our finalists, and longlisters for outstanding work as well! One more huge thank you to our guest agents: Stephanie Winter at P.S. Literary Agency and Leah Pierre at Ladderbird Literary Agency! Congratulations, writers!



First Place Winner: Phoebe Angaye for Rhythm & Beat

Second Place Winner: K. Garcia Ley for The Brain Stitcher’s Daughter

Third Place Winner: Shoshana Surek for Mississippi Sun Dog


FINALISTS (in no particular order)

Lynne Schmidt for My Sister’s Memories

Isabella Morais for SAFE

Bayana Davis for The Book of Descendance

Kelly Goss for The Other Shore

Elizabeth J. Rekab for The Third Flash

Samantha Panepinto for The Distance to Jupiter

Monica Chin for The Space Between


LONGLIST (in no particular order)

Regan Humphrey for Justice & Liberty

Amanda O’Donnell for Spin

Melinda Combs for The Rainbow Hunters

Quinn Diacon-Furtado for Our Only Music Was Uproar

Deri Pryor for Sequence

Elise Chidley Clark for The Ransom Traits

Madelin Medina for Call Me Zelda

Nicole Messina for Winterheart

Megan Navarro Conley for Don’t Say I Didn’t Warn You

Nina Moldawsky for Cupcakes for Supervillains

Kelsey Ford for How to Change Your Tune

Rachel Chiong for Doctor Daniri and the Mythical Beasts of the Mundo

Patricia Brooke for You’re Always Perfect When You’re Dead

Elena Nicolaou for The Five Moons

Katie Van Ark for Kiss and Cry

K.C. Finn for The Skin Revolt

Sarah Hawkins for This is How You Love

Benjamin Garcia for Gifted

S. Salazar for Strangers

Amy Braun for Stone Singer

Claudia Ramos for Prep, Lies, and Argyle

Christina Trujillo for Burnt

Sarah Mills for What I Wanted to Say

Zoe Fawkes for The Princess’ Bride

Janaea Eads for Shelling for Peas

Amy de la Force for She of Hammer and Flame

Brigette Stevenson for Shift in the Wind

Sofia Drummond-Moore for Marepine

Mahdis Marzooghian for Death Has None

Kimberly Kim for The Keeper of the Obscure

Amanda Thomas for The Casters

Carolina Ixta Navarro-Gutierrez for Intersections

Kyle Rea for Upstate

Janice Torres for The Vocalist

Nancy Rivera for Prisoners

Anndee Hochman for My Plural is People

Bessie F. Zaldívar for Libertad

Erica Shaw for Savage Aria

Derick Gibbs for Beyond the Aviary

Susan Muaddi Darraj for Faten Salameh WIll Be Seen

Olivia Martello for The Dance of the Sea

Abby Maguire for Girls Like You

Kimberly Kim for When Wind Met Water

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *